Common statement from the Nordic People's Movements

Solidarity with the Irish people – No to the Lisbon Treaty!

At the European Council meeting in Brussels recently the Heads of the member states agreed that Ireland will have no real opt outs from the Lisbon Treaty. The EU leadership refuses to renegotiate the Lisbon Treaty and compels the Irish electorate to vote a second time on the same treaty they rejected in June 2008.

The Lisbon Treaty, the new constitution of the EU, is till now the most large scale change of treaties within the EU. More power is moved from the national parliaments to the EU's various supranational power institutions. At the same time the big member states get a stronger position on the behalf of the small ones. The Lisbon Treaty consolidates the supremacy of the EU rights and prepare for more questions to be treated by the EU-level. In addition the new constitution lays the ground for a federal police force and will change the EU into a military alliance.

At the top meeting in Brussels the Heads of member states took a "decision" directed to the Irish government of so called "legal guarantees" for Ireland concerning family, taxation and neutrality politics. The intention with theses "guarantees" is to give the government in Ireland a pretext for call for a new referendum on the Lisbon Treaty. But this just humbug. The referendum will deal with the same treaty the Irish people already voted No to. Not a single wording has been changed, not a comma has been moved.

You could read at the editorial page of Svenska Dagbladet under the headline "EU-cosmetics will win Irish votes" that the Irish this autumn will vote a second time about "in principle the same issue", but now with the addition: "We guarantee that you are not compelled to do what you anyway do not need to do".

With this statement we wish to declare our solidarity with the Irish people and it is our hope that the Irish electorate once more will vote down the Lisbon Treaty. Their struggle is our struggle.

Lea Launokari, Alternativ til EU, Finland Soren Sondergaard, Folkebevaegelsen mod EU, Danmark Eva-Britt Svensson, Folkrörelsen Nej till EU, Sverige Ragnar Arnalds, Heimssyn, Island Heming Olaussen, Nei til EU, Norge